Line Item Veto and Line Item Passage Amendment?

Back in the Reagan and Clinton days there was talk from these Presidents requesting line item veto power so they could cut waste and pork spending. The Supreme Court ruled it unconstitutional. The only way to make it constitutional is to turn it into an amendment.  I’m in favor of restarting this conversation. I’d love to see an amendment not only for line item veto for the President, but also Congress.  You might be thinking, what? How on earth would that happen?

Obviously I’m not talking about Congress getting veto power because they don’t have veto power. Congress makes bills and passes them on to the President to sign or veto. However, recently we’ve had quite a number of bills go through Congress that were said to have been not read. Now, I’m not sure how you feel about that, but I think if someone is saying “Yea” to a bill passing, I’d like it if they read every line and every provision. So much so, I’d like each member to have to put their signature/initials by each line saying they agree with it. I’m tired of hearing Congress saying things like “Well, overall it was a good bill.” Implying that there were segments of the bill that they didn’t agree with. One of my goals in making this amendment is to make Congressional members accountable for any pork they pass. If they didn’t like a section of the bill, they can not agree with it. If the Bill gets to the President and is too incomplete that as a law it’s not workable, it’s his job to veto it and send it back to Congress.

So what do you think? Line Item Amendment?

About

I am a chiropractor that does a great deal of nutritional/natural treatments to help my patients overcome a wide variety of conditions. (see www.berglundcenter.com) God has gifted me with an additional depth/revelation into how the Body of Christ is like the human body. The parallel goes far deeper than Paul alluded to in 1 Corinthians. I desire your feedback on this.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

